Virtual product development in sustainable value networks

The B1 project aims at developing a design decision support system (DDSA) guiding engineers to develop more sustainable products. The guidance is realized by integrating methodical support into engineering environments. 51 methods have been screened for applicability whereof 22 were sufficiently described. These methods have been classified in 7 categories, for example according to suitable product development phase, addressed sustainability dimensions, addressed lifecycle phase. The described methods and corresponding classifications are available at www.sustainable-manufacturing.net/B1x. Nine of those methods have been applied to redesign a turbo charger. The approach to combine existing methods has proven to be highly promising. In the case of the turbo charger, the results are based on a mix of quantitative (CO2-footprint) and qualitative (ease of disassembly) specifications. The case study revealed a high effort for conducting methods especially for data acquisition. Specific information objects necessary to conduct the methods have been identified to facilitate method application.
The DDSA provides a systemized selection of suitable methods, guides users through methods and manages necessary information objects. Apart from existing, the approach to modularize products, for example, to increase product lifetime and reuse has been identified as promising. A method has been developed to guide engineers in modularizing a product. The method links sustainability goals to design strategies and finally modularization metrics (figure 1). These metrics are used to cluster functions and/or components and thus modularize the product in respect to multiple selected goals.

Figure 1 Modularization Method
Figure 1 Modularization Method

In the course of the B1 project an ontology (figure 2) has been developed allowing functional and sustainability requirements to be jointly considered in decision making. The material selection of a bike frame served as an example case. In a first step the CO2 Emission is only based on wrought material production. The material must fulfill functional requirements such as a specific stiffness which is determined by the material’s elastic limit and geometry. The material must also effect the fulfillment of a CO2 limit determined by the volume and material density. Each available material is checked for both requirements and suitable materials are determined. In future work the ontology will be extended to embrace more lifecycle relevant data such as production processes and to allow for varying also geometry parameters.

Figure 2 Product Ontology
Figure 2 Product Ontology

Learn more about challenges, approach and results of project B1 in this Powerpoint presentation

Virtuelle Produktentstehung in nachhaltigen Wertschöpfungsnetzen

Im B1 Projekt wird ein „Design Decision Support Assistance“ (DDSA) entwickelt, der Ingenieure unterstützt Produkte nachhaltiger zu entwickeln. Das Assistenzsystem basiert auf methodischer Unterstützung, die in die IT- Umgebung des Ingenieurs integriert ist. 51 Methoden wurden auf ihre Anwendbarkeit überprüft, 22 davon sind ausreichend beschrieben. Diese wurden in 7 Kategorien klassifiziert, z.B. basierend auf der Eignung für eine bestimmte Produktentwicklungsphase, betrachtete Nachhaltigkeitsdimension oder Lebenzyklusphase. Die beschriebenen Methoden sind unter www.sustainable-manufacturing.net/B1x zugänglich. Neun der Methoden wurden am Beispiel eines Turboladers getestet. Der Ansatz bestehende Methoden zu kombinieren erwies sich als sehr vielversprechend. Im Fall des Turboladers wurden Ergebnisse basierend auf quantitativen (CO2- Fußabdruck) und qualitativen (Demontagefähigkeit) Analysen generiert. Der Anwendungsfall hat den hohen Aufwand für die Methodenanwendung, insbesondere für die Datenbeschaffung, aufgezeigt. Es wurden verschiedene Informationsobjekte spezifiziert, die für die Methodenanwendung notwendig sind, um die Anwendung zu erleichtern.
Der DDSA bietet eine systematische Auswahl zur Identifikation geeigneten Methoden, unterstützt Nutzer bei der Ausführung und verwaltet notwendige Informationsobjekte. Zusätzlich zu existierenden Methoden wurde eine Produktmodularisierungsmethode entwickelt. Die Methode verbindet Nachhaltigkeitsziele über Entwicklungsstrategien mit Modularisierungsmetriken (Abbildung 1). Diese Metriken werden genutzt, um Funktionen und/oder Komponenten zu clustern und das Produkt hinsichtlich verschiedener Ziele zu modularisieren.

Im B1 Projekts wurde zudem eine Ontologie (Abbildung 2) entwickelt, die es ermöglicht funktionale und Nachhaltigkeitsanforderungen gemeinsam in den Entscheidungsprozess einzubinden. Als Beispiel wurde die Werkstoffwahl eines Fahrradrahmens genutzt. Im ersten Schritt sind die CO2-Emissionen nur auf Produktion von Halbzeugen bezogen. Der Werkstoff muss funktionale Anforderungen erfüllen, z.B. eine spezifische Steifigkeit, die durch die Elastizitätsgrenze des Werkstoffes und die Geometrie berechnet wird. Zudem muss er die Einhaltung einer CO2-Grenze, bestimmt durch das Volumen und die Werkstoffdichte, ermöglichen. Jeder Werkstoff wird bzgl. beider Anforderungen auf seine Eignung geprüft. In zukünftigen Arbeiten wird die Ontologie um weitere lebenszyklusrelevante Daten, z.B. Produktionsprozesse, und funktionale Zusammenhänge erweitert.

Mehr zu Herausforderungen, Ansätzen und Ergebnissen von Projekt B1 finden Sie in dieser Powerpoint-Präsentation