Energy Efficient Cleaning and Dry Machining

approach_b2Turning trials with and without cutting lubricant were undertaken with the internally-cooled turning tool. The cutting tool is worn after a few minutes when titanium is machined without any tool cooling. Whereas, turning with cooling lubricant and internally-cooled tool reduces wear significantly. The end of tool life was reached after one hour, instead of four minutes for dry cutting without any cooling. When comparing the amount of energy for tool cooling and the amount of energy for tool manufacturing, it became clear that dry machining with the internally-cooled tool is having the lowest energy consumption of all tested cooling methods. The major benefit of dry cutting with the internally-cooled tool is the prevention of deceases caused by cooling lubricants and environmental pollution.

In general, cleaning processes are based on a combination of different cleaning mechanisms. A dishwasher for example, combines a chemical effect of a detergent with the thermal and mechanical effect of the heated water, which is sprayed upon the dishes. The cleaning mechanisms’ efficient combination of dry ice blasting is investigated in subproject B2.
The Identification of an application specific combination of the blasting particles’ mechanical impact and the thermal effect of the particles will help to reduce electricity and carbon dioxide consumption. The conventional acceleration by compressed air shell be substituted by a rotational wheel based mechanical acceleration. Due to this, detailed knowledge of the particle impact is needed to avoid early sublimation losses of wheel blasting with dry ice: Conventional wheel blasting devices are not suitable for non-durable blasting media. At the same time, the investigation of the particle impact led to the development of a new blasting benchmark, which does not depend on the blasting target, e. g. the specific material removal rate.
Learn more about challenges, approach and results of project B2 in this Powerpoint presentation

Innengekühlte Drehwerkzeuge und energieeffiziente Reinigung

approach_b2Das geschlossen-innengekühlte Drehwerkzeug mit und ohne Kühlschmierstoff hinsichtlich energetischer Effizienz, Produktivität und Benutzerfreundlichkeit getestet worden. Beim Drehen von Titanlegierungen zeigte sich, dass bei der energiesparenden Trockenbearbeitung ohne Kühlung das Werkzeug nach wenigen Minuten verschlissen ist und daraufhin ausgetauscht werden musste. Wohingegen eine Drehbearbeitung mit Kühlschmierstoff und geschlossener Innenkühlung einen Werkzeugwechsel erst nach einer Stunde erforderlich machte. Bei einer Gegenüberstellung von aufgewendeter Energie für die Werkzeugkühlung und der Energie für die Werkzeugherstellung zeigte sich, dass eine Trockenbearbeitung unter Zuhilfenahme des geschlossen innengekühlten Drehwerkzeugs die beste Gesamtenergiebilanz aufweist und gleichzeitig potenzielle Krankheitsquellen aufgrund des ausbleibenden Kühlschmierstoffeinsatz reduziert.

Reinigungsvorgänge beruhen auf unterschiedlichen Wirkmechanismen: Wie in einem Geschirrspüler kann die Verschmutzung bspw. durch chemische Mittel, Erwärmung und hohe kinetische Energie beim Aufsprühen des Spülmediums besser gelöst werden. Die effiziente Kombination der Reinigungsmechanismen wird im Teilprojekt B2 am Beispiel des Trockeneisstrahlens im Rahmen von Fertigungsprozessen untersucht.
Durch eine anwendungsspezifische Kombination aus strahldruckabhängigem mechanischen Aufprall und eingesetzter Menge an Strahlpartikel soll deren Verbrauch sowie der Stromverbrauch verringert werden. Für eine mechanische und damit energieeffiziente Beschleunigung ist eine genaue Kenntnis des Aufprallvorgangs notwendig. Durch die Entwicklung neuer Schleuderradgeometrien können hohe Sublimationsverluste durch zu heftige Kontakte vermieden werden. Die Untersuchung des Aufpralls erlaubt gleichzeitig die Entwicklung eines neuen strahlgutunabhängigen Vergleichsmaßstabs, mit dessen Hilfe die Verbesserung eines neuen Designs gemessen werden kann.

Mehr zu Herausforderungen, Ansätzen und Ergebnissen von Projekt B2 finden Sie in dieser Powerpoint-Präsentation (englisch)